Artifact review: TikTok for adults?

A clunky, endless scroll of mainstream media.

Artifact is a mobile app that uses AI to curate news that fits your taste.

Is it any good?

It’s mid. Whenever a new app puts me on a waitlist, my expectations are automatically elevated. In the first week of usage, my taste has been “identified”, but I rarely find myself endless scrolling like I may on other platforms like TikTok or Twitter. And my “unique” AI algorithm is just categorical mainstream content.

The biggest issue is that Artifact is a glorified web browser. A good chunk of the articles I read end up having giant advertisements.

Is it worth it?

I guess. Anything free is worth checking out, and I haven’t deleted the app yet. I’m going to continue to see if my algorithm gets better, but I personally enjoy Y Combinator’s Hacker News. For people who are looking to just stay up to date with mainstream news, it’s a solid choice.

Hope I saved you a bit of time with this one. Make sure to subscribe if you want more 1 minute reads like this.